Salta ai contenuti. | Salta alla navigazione

Sezioni
Home Admissions Suggested readings for improving personal preparation

Suggested readings for improving personal preparation

Admission is contingent upon verification by the competent Academic Offices of validity of academic qualifications for registration and acceptance of the candidate onto the course. Should this be the case we will provide students information about additional readings after the formal admission: students must pass interview(s) with the referee(s) by the 30th of November 2021. Any requests for extension must be made to the Committee by the 30th of November and will be considered at the next meeting.

SUGGESTED READINGS FOR THE ADMISSION TO THE MASTER'S DEGREE “IR” / a.y. 2021/2022

HISTORICAL/POLITICAL AND PHILOSOPHICAL

Prof. Ronald Car ronald.car@unimc.it

  • W.M. SPELLMAN, A Short History of Western Political Thought, Palgrave MacMillan, 2011

ECONOMICS AND STATISTICS

Prof. Fabio Clementi fabio.clementi@unimc.it

  • N.G.MANKIW, Principles of economics, South-Western Cengage Learning, Mason, OH, 2012 / Chapters: 1,2, 4, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 21, 23, 24, 25, 28, 29, 30, 31 (pages from 671 to 685 only)
  • M. LEWIS, Applied Statistics for Economists, Routledge, Abingdon (Oxon) and New York, 2012 / Chapters: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
STUDENTS MUST GET IN CONTACT WITH PROF. CLEMENTI TO BE ADVISED ABOUT WHERE THE READING ARE AVAILABLE.

POLITICAL SCIENCE (Prof. Andrea Prontera AND SOCIOLOGY (Prof.ssa Alessia Bertolazzi)

 

  • A. GIDDENS &  P.W. SUTTON (2014), Essential Concepts in Sociology. Politily Press, Chapters: 1. Thinking sociologically; 4. Structure of society; 5. Unequal life chances; 10. Political sociology.
Contact Prof.ssa Alessia Bertolazzi for this reading: alessia.bertolazzi@unimc.it
  • J. PINDER E S. USHERWOOD, The European Union: A Very Short Introduction, Third Edition, Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2018
    Contact Prof. Andrea Prontera for this reading: andrea.prontera@unimc.it

LANGUAGE*

FRENCH

Prof.ssa Mathilde Anquetil mathilde.anquetil@unimc.it

  • L. PARODI, M. VALLACCO, GRAMMATHEQUE, grammatica contrastiva per italiani-nuova edizione 2010, ed. CIDEB

For absolute beginners in French:

  • S. POISSON-QUINTON – R. JUANES, French Grammar in 44 lessons and over 230 activities: coursebook + CD  level A1, Grammaire du français, version anglophone, 2014 , Editions Maison des langues. ISBN: 9788416057689
https://www.emdl.fr/fle/materiels-complementaires/grammaires/la-grammaire-du-francais/la-grammaire-du-francais-a1-cd-audio-anglophone
OR

LANGUAGE*

SPANISH

Prof. Armando Francesconi armando.francesconi@unimc.it

  • M. CARRERA DÍAZ, E P. SILVESTRI, Entre palabras. Grammatica contrastiva della lingua spagnola Loescher, 2010.
  • A. FRANCESCONI, “Señoras y Señores diputados/ ‘Onorevoli deputati’. Un estudio contrastivo del léxico político español/italiano”, Translation Journal, rivista digitale, Volume 14, No. 3 July 2010, pp. 1-21. Available at: http://www.bokorlang.com/journal/53politics.htm

LAW

Prof.ssa Ilaria Trapè

annailaria.trape@unimc.it

  • R. WACKS, Law: A Very Short Introduction, Oxford University Press, 2015

*LANGUAGE GAP: Students must choose to fill in the gap in only one of the two indicated languages – French or Spanish – and contact the related referee for the interview. NOTICE: Students cannot choose their own native language.